鑑於入境限制、暫停簽證服務及檢疫措施等考慮因素,國際共襄創意學院2021將會改為結合線上內容和實體節目的創新學習活動。

國際共襄創意學院2021 節目通行證

通過國際共襄創意學院2021 節目通行證 參與活動,你可以於1422日期間參與實體樂習(本地節目通行證持有人)或參與即時線上節目:

.4 場創意工作坊

.3 場大師班

.1  場公開講堂

.3 場表演課堂

.2 場音樂家座談會

.1 場學術論壇

.1 場音樂會門票 1 張

.國際共襄創意學院2021 電子資源庫 (由2021年4月起可供登入)

.國際共襄創意學院出版的電子刊物,收錄過往三年的教學資源及過往三屆敲擊襄國際作曲比賽(TPICC)的入圍作品 (由2021年4月起

    可供閱讀)

 

*以上的活動將會進行錄影,並會上傳至電子資源庫供TICA PASS持有人觀看至2021年6月30日

#部分活動設現場參與,開放予本地節目通行證持有人現場參與,活動地點為敲擊襄藝術空間

 

​學院日程

國際共襄創意學院 2021 線上開幕活動

04 Jan 2021 09:00-09:30  (GTM+8)

歡迎參加國際共襄創意學院2021,跨時區的學院導師班底將於線上與大家見面,以及詳細地介紹一連三週的樂習活動,正式線上「襄」見!

TICA 活動

藝術管理講堂:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略

04 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00  (GTM+8)

講者: 馮文傑及蓋里.貝克曼博士

藝術管理講堂及工作坊:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略系列旨在為獨立藝術家、藝術企業和新興藝術企業家嘗試提出基於實況藝術紓困策略,以應對藝術行業的挑戰,尤其當下我們正面對前所未有的健康及經濟危機。俄克拉荷馬大學藝術學院副院長馮文傑和北卡羅來納州立大學藝術創業研究系總監蓋里.貝克曼博士將分享一些實況和藝術生存模式,分析在充滿不確定性的時代中可能的路向。

​公開講堂

大師班:嚴天成博士

04 Jan 2021 11:00-12:30  (GTM+8)

大師班由小提琴家嚴天成博士主持,嚴博士為香港浸會大學音樂系助理教授,過往曾擔任夏威夷交響樂團及克里夫蘭管弦樂團等知名樂團之小提琴手,更隨克里夫蘭管弦樂團到訪過歐美等地演出。大師班鼓勵弦樂學員示範正研習的樂章,並由導師即時指導。

大師班

大師班:和敏貞博士

05 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30  (GTM+8)

大師班由和敏貞博士主持,和博士以「萬千變化」和「無與倫比的美感」(Berliner Zeitung)見稱,現為俄克拉荷馬大學音樂學院小提琴副教授及塞西莉亞弦樂四重奏的首席小提琴家。大師班鼓勵弦樂學員示範正研習的樂章,並由導師即時指導。

大師班

大師班:柯林.卡瑞 - 樂譜之外,馬林巴琴的迴響

05 Jan 2021 18:00-19:30  (GTM+8)

大師班由柯林.卡瑞 Colin Currie 主持,以馬林巴琴的旋律演奏為題,透過對不同樂章的旋律的深入解構及分析,分享更有效演奏馬林巴琴的技巧,最佳化馬林巴琴所能奏出的聲音。大師班鼓勵敲擊樂學員示範正研習的樂章,並由導師即時指導。

大師班

大師班:大衞.賀伯特 - 以簡為美的定音鼓演奏

06 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30  (GTM+8)

大師班由芝加哥交響樂團的首席定音鼓手大衞.賀伯特主持,賀伯特以最簡單角度切入定音鼓演奏概念,認清並撇除不必要的「技倆」,從作曲語言理解樂譜及以「回歸基本步」作為演繹策略。大師班鼓勵敲擊樂學員示範正研習的樂章,並由導師即時指導。

大師班

藝術家沙龍:假如聲音有所寄喻 - 趙朗天

06 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30  (GTM+8)

我們是如何從噪音中界劃出所以為的音樂?聲音的無處不在一直挑戰我們對聲音信息的解讀。通過聲音藝術與音樂的互通,作曲家另闢不同蹊徑,嘗試在聲音、空間及時間不同面向對觀眾佈喻。本藝術家沙龍,以巴赫(Bach)、約翰.凱吉(John Cage)、馬克斯.紐豪斯(Max Neuhaus)以至當代藝術家的音樂作品為例,跳躍於在不同創作類型間,探討聲音的接收如何寄喻,又如何作為具力量的創意工具。

藝術家沙龍

作曲工作坊:上野健教授

07 Jan 2021 10:00-11:30  (GTM+8)

作曲家兼加利福尼亞大學柏克萊分校教授上野健將與敲擊襄國際作曲比賽(TPICC)的三位作曲家決賽入圍者舉行大師班。活動部分是理論、同時有個別指導,可謂三位入圍者的「作曲成年禮」,本次作曲工作坊本質上是一節公開的私人作曲課。這活動既如閉門課堂,也如演前藝談。

工作坊

表演講堂:柯林.卡瑞四重奏

07 Jan 2021 19:00-20:30  (GTM+8)

表演講堂系列將透過播放音樂錄像及學院導師現場解說及分析,讓參加者從不同角度賞析音樂,在聆聽樂曲之餘,更可與音樂家即場交流及問答,解構敲擊樂的創新演奏技巧。第一堂表演講堂將邀請英國的著名當代敲擊樂界勁旅— 柯林 · 卡瑞四重奏,以錄像形式演出精選敲擊樂章,包括知名極簡主義作曲家史蒂夫.萊許的作品《擊鼓》(第一部份)、安迪.亞基浩《Pillar IV》,以及戴夫.馬里克的鍵盤四重奏新作等。

表演講堂

大師班:上野健教授

08 Jan 2021 10:00-11:30  (GTM+8)

大師班將分為學院導師/講者的演講及參加者演奏並獲取學院導師意見兩個部分。如參加者希望獲得導師針對演奏的意見,需要提交一段近期拍攝、未被剪輯的練習曲、獨奏或管弦樂曲選段用於課堂上觀看或與導師進行公開課堂。每班可容納四名樂手接受指導,名額以先到先得形式登記。

大師班

學術論壇

08 Jan 2021 19:30-21:00  (GTM+8)

國際共襄創意學院學術論壇將邀請作曲家林丰博士、馬修.施雷貝斯博士 (Dr. Matthew Schreibeis) 及蒂莫西.貝奇 (Timothy Page) 擔任學術論壇講者,探討創新作曲手法及技巧。

學術論壇

共襄音樂會

09 Jan 2021 19:30-21:00 (GTM+8)

共襄音樂會將帶來一場音樂與文化交流的盛會,活動將播放國際共襄創意學院委約之互動錄像,囊括英國的著名當代敲擊樂界勁旅— Colin Currie Quartet、獲葛萊美獎肯定之美國領先四重奏敲擊樂團— Third Coast Percussion 第三海岸打擊樂團、澳洲最悠久而創新不斷的敲擊樂匠— Synergy Percussion,及本地樂手演出,展現跨世代敲擊樂力量。

音樂會

藝術管理工作坊I:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略

11 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

藝術管理講堂及工作坊:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略系列旨在為獨立藝術家、藝術企業和新興藝術企業家嘗試提出基於實況藝術紓困策略,以應對藝術行業的挑戰,尤其當下我們正面對前所未有的健康及經濟危機。俄克拉荷馬大學藝術學院副院長馮文傑和北卡羅來納州立大學藝術創業研究系總監蓋里.貝克曼博士將分享一些實況和藝術生存模式,分析在充滿不確定性的時代中可能的路向。

​工作坊

敲擊工作坊:薩姆.沃爾頓 (柯林.卡瑞四重奏) - 從音樂性透析小鼓選段

12 Jan 2021 21:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

作為管弦樂團的鼓手,我們經常以追求聲音均勻和絕對準確性的態度對待練習和演奏。但實際上,小鼓演奏其實不止於此,鼓手可以利用小鼓演奏出更多的效果。我們可以透過改變音樂選段演繹方法來使舞蹈栩栩如生,或使軍事戲劇更牽動人心。在課堂中,薩姆.沃爾頓將介紹一些小鼓選段的著名例子(《天方夜譚》、《基傑少尉》、《哈利亞諾斯》、《波萊羅》和蕭斯達高維契的第七交響樂),並嘗試使學員改變對選段的演繹方式,從而著重於聲音、音樂性、分句和意境。 

敲擊樂工作坊

作曲工作坊

14 Jan 2021 13:00-14:30 (GTM+8)

納芬尼爾.史圖基1970年生於三藩市,17歲已獲三藩市交響樂團委約創作。他跟世界各地頂尖管弦樂團合作,包括費城管弦樂團、卡夫蘭管弦樂團、芝加哥交響管弦樂團及洛杉磯愛樂樂團等。在2006年,三藩市交響樂團委約、首演及錄製了他的巨作《作曲家之死》,及後於世界各地獲逾百隊管弦樂團演出,被譽為21世紀被演出最多次的五首作品之一。

工作坊

表演講堂:Synergy Percussion

14 Jan 2021 18:00-19:30 (GTM+8)

表演講堂系列將透過播放音樂錄像及學院導師現場解說及分析,讓參加者從不同角度賞析音樂,在聆聽樂曲之餘,更可與音樂家即場交流及問答,解構敲擊樂的創新演奏技巧。第二堂表演講堂將邀請澳洲最悠久而創新不斷的敲擊樂匠— Synergy Percussion,以錄像形式演出精選敲擊樂章。

表演講堂

敲擊工作坊:安卓恩.史賓列 (柯林.卡瑞四重奏)

14 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30 (GTM+8)

因應倫敦的封城措施,安卓恩.史賓列的敲擊工作坊將會延遲。

我的職業演奏生涯包含了管弦樂及當代敲擊樂,所以道取兩邊風格迥然不同的兩首選段作討論,主要解構一下兩種經常被忽略的輔助樂器─鈴鼓及鑼。仔細一想,一個針對鑼的課堂,你和我都絕對未上過呢!

我們會由布烈頓的海之間奏曲 〈風暴〉 中鈴鼓的部分切入。這是在英國為人熟悉的音樂選段,在海外可能較為陌生,敲擊樂手出錯就更易。我們會解構演奏選段時需用的演奏技巧、討論使用拇指和其他手指演奏的優缺點、處理棘手的漸強與漸弱,同時不失整體的音樂性。


敲擊樂工作坊

弦樂課堂:不安中仍「弦」作樂 - 和敏貞博士及凱特琳·博伊爾博士

15 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30 (GTM+8)

能聚在一起玩音樂可以說是最令樂手滿足的經歷之一,音樂總能跨越語言地連繫彼此。但是,疫情讓這一切變得不容易,尢其是隔離讓人與人更為疏遠。這意味著我們尋找新的出路去理解和創作音樂。在這場圍繞室樂的課堂將深入探討不同的音樂實際議題,在不確定中該如何作樂,既論當前,也言將來;又該如何以音樂作為生存,瘳癒人心和緩解壓力,最後,當然也會論及如何有效練習。

​弦樂課堂

藝術家沙龍:馬林巴琴改編與演奏 - 陳梓浩

15 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30 (GTM+8)

馬林巴琴被廣泛認為是最具變化和表現力的鍵盤敲擊樂器,近年它更成為音樂會中的標準配器。除了傳統的馬林巴琴曲目外,近來敲擊樂手已慣常以馬林巴琴上演奏改編的古典樂曲。

藝術家沙龍將進一步探討演奏複音的可能性,集中探索如何使用四棍技巧在馬林巴琴上演奏經典改編曲。探索的過程會以音樂練習來示範改編的技巧,並以藝術家的改編作品作音樂示例。

藝術家沙龍

弦樂工作坊:和敏貞博士與安德烈·J·羅伊教授

16 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

弦樂四重奏所呈現的優美樂調,是建基於四種各具特色的音色之間的持續調和,同時找出這些聲音的同質性並取得平衡而成。在這次講堂中將會了解有關音調的歷史,進一步分析它在弦樂四重奏這類曲式上的應用,並以相關文獻分析弦樂四重奏的組成。講堂亦包括分享弦樂合奏基本原則相關概念,如音準、樂音間的配合、樂句導引等。

弦樂工作坊

藝術管理工作坊II:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略

18 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

藝術管理講堂及工作坊:藝術創意 x 危機 x 抗逆策略系列旨在為獨立藝術家、藝術企業和新興藝術企業家嘗試提出基於實況藝術紓困策略,以應對藝術行業的挑戰,尤其當下我們正面對前所未有的健康及經濟危機。俄克拉荷馬大學藝術學院副院長馮文傑和北卡羅來納州立大學藝術創業研究系總監蓋里.貝克曼博士將分享一些實況和藝術生存模式,分析在充滿不確定性的時代中可能的路向。

工作坊

敲擊工作坊:歐文.甘內爾 (柯林.卡瑞四重奏)

19 Jan 2021 21:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

作為多元的音樂人,游走於不同界別的適應力及準備至關緊要。今日我一襲燕尾服在木琴上演奏蕭斯達高維契的交響曲;另一天我又一身黑西裝演奏著施托克豪;換一天我又可以搖身一變扮演糖梅仙子在管弦樂團前演奏 - 這一切我盡都享受!

在課堂上,我們會以基礎技巧、心理預備入手,探討由初見樂譜到彈出第一個音的應對策略。熟演以上種種,我們才開始談,何謂一名更好的樂手。

敲擊樂工作坊

襄聲平台 襄序曲之冬 午間音樂會

21 Jan 2021 13:00-14:00 (GTM+8)

鑑於疫情的最新發展情況,音樂會將會延期進行。


- 敲擊襄 x 香港大學美術博物館擊樂新編演奏系列 冬章 -



蟄伏於深冬的清瑟之音 
Music that lingers in a deep winter slumber

襄序曲之續章《冬》,在香港大學美術博物館換上一室緙繡書畫冬裝後歸來。繼《春》襄序曲,再以擊樂,重新編曲韋華第的《冬》(L’inverno) F小調第四協奏曲 ── 一部以四季為靈感而創作的鴻篇經典。

絲織物館藏且以梭子和針為筆、以絲線為彩,織湊一館冬日的靈動清雅;而這系列組曲,以清冷的角鐵為引,演奏麥克本 (Matt McBane)《為三角鐵而作的音樂》,重編巴赫 (J.S. Bach) 名曲來織詩,以聲景豐富的韋華第之《冬》作結,讓擊聲樂韻於深冬的港大美博,詩意地譜畫一部意趣盎然的冬日「絲」篇。寄願疫癘猖獗之冬,仍有音樂的微光照見。

音樂會

表演講堂:第三海岸打擊樂團

22 Jan 2021 21:00-22:00 (GTM+8)

表演講堂系列將透過播放音樂錄像及學院導師現場解說及分析,讓參加者從不同角度賞析音樂,在聆聽樂曲之餘,更可與音樂家即場交流及問答,解構敲擊樂的創新演奏技巧。第三堂表演講堂將邀請獲葛萊美獎肯定之美國領先四重奏敲擊樂團— 第三海岸打擊樂團,以錄像形式演出精選敲擊樂章。

表演講堂

國際共襄創意學院 2021 線上閉幕活動

22 Jan 2021 22:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

TICA2022將有更多實體樂習活動,與來自世界各地的音樂家再次「襄」聚!

TICA 活動

主辦機構

TOOLBOXPNEW.jpg

資肋

訂閱

追蹤我們

聯絡我們

© 2020 國際共襄創意學院 版權所有

節目內容並不反映香港特別行政區的意見

TICA2021 is an annual educational initiative running on a hybrid model encompassing both digital content and physical rendezvous.

TICA2021 Festival Pass

Through partaking as TICA2021 Festival Pass holder, you will be offered the following physical rendezvous (Only for local TICA Pass holder) and live digital programmes:

.FOUR Creative Workshops Sessions

.THREE Masterclasses

.ONE Public Lecture

.THREE Performance Lectures

.TWO Artist Clinics

.ONE Panel Discussion at Hong Kong City Hall

.ONE Online Concert

.Access to Digital Library of all TICA 2021 events by April 2021

.E-Access to publication published by TICA, comprising education materials of the three year’s TICA and selected scores from three year’s TPICC by April 2021

*The occasions listed will all be recorded and be updated onto a digital library available for review until 30 June 2021

​#Some occasions will be hosted live at Toolbox Percussion Artspace and opened to local TICA Festival Pass holders (by request)

 

TICA2021 Schedule

Toolbox International Creative Academy 2021 Orientation Session

04 Jan 2021 09:00-09:30  (GTM+8)

Welcome to Toolbox International Creative Academy 2021! Let's greet the cross-timezone faculty and we will walk you through the three weeks events!!

TICA Event

Arts Management Public Lecture: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis

04 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00  (GTM+8)

Speaker: Adrian Fung and Dr. Gary Beckman

The Arts Management Public Lecture and Workshop: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis series aims to provide practical solutions for independent artists, arts businesses and emerging arts entrepreneurs when dealing with the crisis faced in the art industry, especially in the current time where the health and economic crisis has affected the industry like never before. Associate Dean of Weitzenhoffer College of Fine Arts in the University of Oklahoma, Adrian Fung and Director of Entrepreneurial Studies in the Arts in the NC State University, Dr. Gary Beckman will share a few models that you can use to navigate yourself in crisis, survive and thrive in uncertain times.

Public Lecture

Masterclass: Dr. Patrick Yim

04 Jan 2021 11:00-12:30  (GTM+8)

TICA faculty Dr. Patrick Yim will share his knowledge in string playing in this masterclass. Dr. Patrick Yim is the Assistant Professor in the Department of Music at Hong Kong Baptist University. He has performed in the violin sections of the Hawaii Symphony and The Cleveland Orchestraand, and has performed as soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, and orchestral violinist throughout the world. The masterclass encourages participants to present the piece they have been studying for the lecturer's advice.

Masterclass

Masterclass: Dr. Min-jeong Koh

05 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30  (GTM+8)

TICA faculty Dr. Min-jeong Koh will share her knowledge in string playing in this masterclass. Praised for her “extreme versatility” and “simply unbeatable beauty of tone” (Berliner Zeitung), Dr. Min-Jeong Koh is the Associate Professor of Violin in University of Oklahoma and the first violinist of the former Cecilia String Quartet. The masterclass encourages participants to present the piece they have been studying for the lecturer's advice.

Masterclass

Masterclass: Colin Currie - Playing the Line and Making the Marimba Sing

05 Jan 2021 18:00-19:30  (GTM+8)

TICA faculty Colin Currie will share in this masterclass with the topic of playing the line and making the marimba sing, which dissect and analyze lines from different repertoires to show how to play the marimba with more efficiency and optimizing the sound played with a marimba. The masterclass encourages participants to present the piece they have been studying for the lecturer's advice.

Masterclass

Masterclass: David Herbert - Success Through Simplicity

06 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30  (GTM+8)

The TICA Masterclasses encourage participants to present the piece they have been studying for the lecturer's advice. TICA faculty David Herbert will explore the fundamental understanding of compositional language and interpretation through technical simplicity. By identifying and eliminating unnecessary 'tricks', any musical challenges faced in timpani performing can be resolving with simplicity.

Masterclass

Artist Clinic: Perception of sound as a metaphor by Alain Chiu

06 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30  (GTM+8)

How do we choose to distinguish between music from noise? The omnipresence of sound challenges our perception of sonic information. By bridging sonic arts and music, we create pathways to directly communicate with audiences’ perception of sound, space, and time. From Bach, John Cage, Max Neuhaus to the works of contemporary artists, this micro lecture meanders through different genres and look at ways to turn sonic perception into a powerful creative tool.

Artist Clinic

Composition Workshop: Prof. Ken Ueno

07 Jan 2021 10:00-11:30  (GTM+8)

In this occassion, composer and UC Berkeley professor, Ken Ueno, will present a masterclass, working with the three composer finalists of the Toolbox Percussion International Composition Competition (TPICC). Part therapy, part a rite of passage, the composition masterclass is, essentially, a private composition lesson on public display. It is a kind of middle ground between the intimacy of a private lesson and a concert or pre-concert lecture.

Workshop

Performance Lecture: Colin Currie Quartet

07 Jan 2021 19:00-20:30  (GTM+8)

Performance Lecture will be playing a pre-recorded performance, followed by live analysis and dissection by TICA Faculty. Participants can communicate with musicians LIVE, while enjoying the masterful performance by professional artists, and appreciating innovative performative techniques for percussion. The first Performance Lecture will feature Colin Currie Quartet, the world-known percussion legend from the UK. Through performance that is paired with analysis, artist sharing and lecture on different repertoires including ‘Drumming: Part 1’ by renowned minimalism composer Steve Reich, ‘Pillar IV’ by Andy Akiho and new mallet quartet by Dave Maric.

Performance Lecture

Masterclass: Prof. Ken Ueno

08 Jan 2021 10:00-11:30  (GTM+8)

Masterclass will be split between presentations by the faculty / speaking artist and participant work with faculty feedback. In order to get feedback, participants are required to submit score of their own creation that will be viewed in the class, either way will be followed by a teaching / short open lesson with the faculty member. Each class will cater up to 4 composers on a first-come-first served basis.

Masterclass

Panel Discussion

08 Jan 2021 19:30-21:00  (GTM+8)

Echoing its major tone for innovative performative techniques for percussion and string, the panel discussion will be led by three composers, Dr. Fung Lam, Dr. Matthew Schreibeis and Timothy Page, the topic of innovative composition technique will be analysed and discussed.

Panel Discussion

Gala Concert

09 Jan 2021 19:30-21:00 (GTM+8)

Echoing its major tone for innovative performative techniques for percussion and string, the Gala Concert is an extravaganza of cultural diplomacy. Gala concert will feature commissioned lecture performances by Colin Currie Quartet, the world-known percussion legend from the UK; grammy-award winning quartet Third Coast Percussion; Synergy Percussion, Australia's oldest and foremost contemporary music ensemble alongside music by local musicians, celebrating the virtuosity and diversity of percussion music.

Concert

Arts Management Public Workshop I: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis

11 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

The Arts Management Public Lecture and Workshop: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis series aims to provide practical solutions for independent artists, arts businesses and emerging arts entrepreneurs when dealing with the crisis faced in the art industry, especially in the current time where the health and economic crisis has affected the industry like never before. Associate Dean of Weitzenhoffer College of Fine Arts in the University of Oklahoma, Adrian Fung and Director of Entrepreneurial Studies in the Arts in the NC State University, Dr. Gary Beckman will share a few models that you can use to navigate yourself in crisis, survive and thrive in uncertain times.

Public Workshop

Percussion Workshop: Sam Walton (Colin Currie Quartet) 

12 Jan 2021 21:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

A Musical Approach to Snare Drum Excerpts

As orchestral snare drummers, we often approach practice and performance with the attitude that evenness of sound and deadly accuracy are to be ideally sought. We neglect the fact that, in actuality, the snare drummer can offer so much more than this; we can bring a dance to life, or evoke military drama by how we play certain excerpts.

Sam Walton is Co-Principal Percussion of the London Symphony Orchestra, and Principal Percussion of the John Wilson Orchestra. He is a member of the Colin Currie Group and Quartet. He is Professor of Percussion at the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal College of Music. He is also Percussion Tutor for the European Union Youth Orchestra.

Percussion Workshop

Composition Workshop: Nathaniel Stookey

14 Jan 2021 13:00-14:30 (GTM+8)

Nathaniel Stookey was born in San Francisco and he was just 17 years old when the city’s Symphony Orchestra commissioned him to write a new work for them. He has collaborated with many of the world's great orchestras including The Philadelphia Orchestra, The Cleveland Orchestra, The Chicago Symphony Orchestra, The Los Angeles Philharmonic and so on. In 2006, The San Francisco Symphony commissioned, premiered, and recorded The Composer Is Dead. It has been performed by hundreds of orchestras worldwide and cited as one of the five most performed works of the 21st century.

Workshop

Performance Lecture: Synergy Percussion

14 Jan 2021 18:00-19:30 (GTM+8)

Performance Lecture will be playing a pre-recorded performance, followed by live analysis and dissection by TICA Faculty. Participants can communicate with musicians LIVE, while enjoying the masterful performance by professional artists, and appreciating innovative performative techniques for percussion. The Second Performance Lecture will feature Synergy Percussion, Australia's oldest and foremost contemporary music ensemble. Through performance that is paired with analysis, artist sharing and lecture on different repertoires of specific themes, the group will be meeting you online to enjoy the exclusive recital for this festival!

Performance Lecture

Percussion Workshop: Adrian Spillett (Colin Currie Quartet)

14 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30 (GTM+8)

Due to the lockdown situation happening in the UK, the percussion workshop by Adrian Spillett will be postponed.

My playing career covers both orchestral and contemporary percussion so I've chosen 2 very different style excerpts. 2 auxiliary instruments which often get neglected are the Tambourine, but more so, the Tam Tam... in fact, have you ever had a Tam Tam lesson? I know I certainly haven't!

We're going to take a brief look at the tambourine part in the Storm from Benjamin Britten's Sea Interludes. It's a famous excerpt over here in the UK, but not so familiar overseas and catches many percussionists out. We'll check out the different techniques involved, discuss the pros and cons to using thumbs vs fingers, how to navigate the tricky crescendo's & diminuendo's whilst keeping an eye on the general musicianship around the excerpt.

Kroumata Pieces by Sven-David Sandström is a terrific percussion sextet I have had the pleasure of performing a few times. The opening is outrageously powerful and has a tune (yes, tune!) on 4 tam tams.  It's tricky to get around and epic fun... we can all have a go here and cover all the parts.  I'll be joined by some of my students from the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire to help out too.

Percussion Workshop

String Lesson: Thriving in Uncertainty

15 Jan 2021 09:00-10:30 (GTM+8)

Speaker: Dr Min-Jeong Koh and Dr Caitlin Boyle

Making music together is one of the most satisfying human experiences; it brings us together in a way that words cannot. However, it is significantly more challenging to do so during COVID-19, as people feel alienated in isolation. This means that we need to come up with new ways of understanding and creating music together. In this presentation on chamber music, we will delve into different issues such as practical techniques for living through uncertainty, in the present as also for the future; breathing and how it can be used from cuing and relieving anxiety; and finally, tips on effective practice.

String Lesson

Artist Clinic: Classical Transcriptions on the Marimba Using Four-mallet Technique

15 Jan 2021 20:00-21:30 (GTM+8)

Speaker: Samuel Chan

Widely being regarded as the keyboard percussion instrument with the most versatility and expressive depth, the marimba has become a standard concert instrument in recent decades. Besides traditional marimba repertoire, it has become a common practice for percussionists these days to adapt classical pieces on the instrument. Among them, the most popular works are J.S. Bach’s violin or cello repertoire, but not much exploration has been done to classical music by other composers and for other instruments, such as piano or guitar. With the advancement of playing technique, it is becoming clear that there is a large aspect of polyphonic possibilities in marimba playing, proven by increasingly pianistic writing of modern marimba repertoire.

This clinic will further explore these polyphonic possibilities with a focus on how to play classical transcriptions on the marimba using four-mallet technique. There will be discussions of the benefit of playing transcriptions, as well as the concepts and principles that are important when playing transcriptions. These ideas will also be supported by demonstration of exercises to develop specific techniques and musical examples from my own transcriptions.

Artist Clinic

String Workshop: Dr. Min-jeong Koh and Prof. André J. Roy

16 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

The work on intonation in a string quartet is based on a careful, indissoluble blending of each of the four independent voices to obtain homogeneity of timbres and equality of voices. In this presentation, the history of intonation and how it specifically applies to the string quartet genre and literature for this formation will be reviewed. Basic principles of string ensemble playing, intonation, matching sound production, cueing, etc., will be addressed.

String Workshop

Arts Management Public Workshop II: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis

18 Jan 2021 09:30-11:00 (GTM+8)

The Arts Management Public Lecture and Workshop: Sustaining Creativity impact amid Crisis series aims to provide practical solutions for independent artists, arts businesses and emerging arts entrepreneurs when dealing with the crisis faced in the art industry, especially in the current time where the health and economic crisis has affected the industry like never before. Associate Dean of Weitzenhoffer College of Fine Arts in the University of Oklahoma, Adrian Fung and Director of Entrepreneurial Studies in the Arts in the NC State University, Dr. Gary Beckman will share a few models that you can use to navigate yourself in crisis, survive and thrive in uncertain times.

Public Workshop

Percussion Workshop: Owen Gunnell (Colin Currie Quartet)

19 Jan 2021 21:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

As someone who has a pretty varied musical life, it is really important to be able to adapt and prepare for the very different scenarios. One day I can be in tails playing the xylophone in a shostakovich symphony, the next day could be in blacks playing some stockhausen, and the day after I could be dressed as a fairy playing the sugar plum fairy out the front of an orchestra. All of which are enjoyable!

In the class we will be discuss simple technical and mental warm-ups, then what happens when we first see the music, to what happens before we play the first note. Once all that is decided we then move onto the actual music, and becoming a better musician...

Percussion Workshop

Toolbox Percussion Platform L’inverno Lunch-time Concert

21 Jan 2021 13:00-14:00 (GTM+8)

In light of the recent developments of the pandemic, the lunch-time concert will be postponed.

The returning of Toolbox Percussion Platform to HKU’s University Museum and Art Gallery greets everyone this winter with the rearranged concerto L’inverno (Winter) from Vivaldi’s well-known work, La Quattro Stagione (The Four Seasons).

Currently showcasing is UMAG’s collection - exquisitely woven and embroidered pictorial and calligraphic works, conjuring up tersely vivid depictions of images and text. Adding a speck of mirth is our selection of Matt McBane’s For Triangles and J.S. Bach’s famous tune, while the percussion-rearranged L’inverno winkles as living light in times of turbulence, igniting winter’s own delights.

Concert

Performance Lecture: Third Coast Percussion

22 Jan 2021 21:00-22:00 (GTM+8)

Performance Lecture will be playing a pre-recorded performance, followed by live analysis and dissection by TICA Faculty. Participants can communicate with musicians LIVE, while enjoying the masterful performance by professional artists, and appreciating innovative performative techniques for percussion. The Third Performance Lecture will feature grammy-award winning quartet Third Coast Percussion. Through performance that is paired with analysis, artist sharing and lecture on different repertoires of specific themes, the group will be meeting you online to enjoy the exclusive recital for this festival!

Performance Lecture

Toolbox International Creative Academy 2021 Closing Session

22 Jan 2021 22:00-22:30 (GTM+8)

Looking forward to seeing musicians around the world in TICA2022!

TICA Event

TICA is presented by

TOOLBOXPNEW.jpg

​Financially Supported by

 Subscribe Newsletter

Follow us

Contact us

Copyright © 2021 Toolbox International Creative Academy. All rights reserved.

The content of these programmes does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region